Ben Grinter.BITTERSWEET is the best way to describe Ben Grinter’s last few days, with the Terang captain claiming back-to-back cricketer of the year awards at last night’s South West Cricket (SWC) presentation.
Nanjing Night Net

The all-rounder’s individual triumph followed on from a disappointing weekend after Terang was toppled in the SWC semi-final despite finishing the season as minor premier.

Grinter polled 15 votes at last night’s count in Noorat, edging out Camperdown bowler Matthew Jeffreys (14 votes) and Terang veteran Tim Keane (13 votes).

Despite having a career-best season, Grinter said the award came as a surprise.

“I thought Tim Keane or Chris Laurie were the big chances,” he said.

“Both of them had pretty good seasons with the bat and the ball.”

He said that winning this season’s cricketer of the year award was equally as special as last year’s honour.

“They’re pretty much the same,” he said.

“But I think missing out on a grand final chance this year put a bit of a dampener on last night.”

Grinter took out the top grade’s batting aggregate after knocking 600 runs during the home-and-away season at an average of 75.

He incredibly scored three successive centuries from rounds seven to nine, starting off with a massive 183 against Camperdown, which was followed by 115 against Mortlake and 127 against Boorcan.

The division one bowling aggregate went to Jeffreys (37 wickets), who snared two six-wicket hauls and a seven-wicket haul during the season.

The division two cricketer of the year was taken out by Ecklin’s Mark Fraser, who attracted 19 votes ahead of Cobden’s Ryan Simmonds (16 votes) and Princetown’s Ryan Jones (15 votes).

The batting aggregate went to Jones (515 runs) while the bowling aggregate went to teammate Daniel Balcombe (29 wickets).

Boorcan’s Brian Rowbottom snared the division three cricketer of the year with 23 votes, also taking home the batting aggregate after scoring 675 runs.

Runner-up in the cricketer of the year was Terang’s Darren Frith (18 votes), followed by Simpson’s Nicholas Harding (16 votes), who also won the bowling aggregate after claiming 29 wickets during the season.

[email protected]南京夜网.au

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.